The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education
2 min read

The 15th Annual Chancellor’s Award for Leadership in Philanthropy


The Chancellor’s Award for Leadership in Philanthropy recognizes outstanding contributions made to the growth and development of Virginia’s Community Colleges and their respective foundations. Recipients of this award believe in the importance of education and are committed to improving the lives of the people in their community.

This year’s recipients are:

Blue Ridge Community College: Ms. Debra Stiles Callison
Central Virginia Community College: Mrs. Karen K. Painter
Dabney S. Lancaster Community College: Mr. Morris Thomas Hudson & Mrs. Carol Ohl Hudson
Danville Community College: Japanese Tobacco International Leaf Services
Eastern Shore Community College: Ms. Roberta Newman
Germanna Community College: Mr. Johnny P. Johnson
J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College: Mrs. Jean Perkinson Holman
John Tyler Community College: The JTCC Foundation Campaign Leadership Committee –
Ms. Pamela Comstock
Mr. Peter Eliades
Mr. Bryce D. Jewett, Jr.
Mr. David O. Ledbetter
Mr. James Myers
Mr. Arthur Hungerford, III
Lord Fairfax Community College: The Jesse & Rose Loeb Foundation
Mountain Empire Community College: The Late Ms. Joyce Cutshaw Tallman
New River Community College: National Bank
Northern Virginia Community College: Apple Federal Credit Union Foundation
Patrick Henry Community College: American Electric Power Foundation
Paul D. Camp Community College: RepairTech
Piedmont Community College: Wells Fargo Greater Charlottesville Market
Rappahannock Community College: Dr. Robert Gates and Mrs. Beverly Gates
Southside Virginia Community College: Carter Machinery Co., Inc. and Caterpillar Foundation
Southwest Virginia Community College: Mr. Gene Hurst and Mrs. Martha Hurst
Thomas Nelson Community College: Mr. Charles P. Blankenship, Sr.
Dr. Charles P. Blankenship, Jr.
Mr. Timothy K. Blankenship
Tidewater Community College: TowneBank
Virginia Highlands Community College: Mr. Michael A. Spiegler
Virginia Western Community College: The Kroger Foundation (Kroger’s Zero Hunger | Zero Waste Plan)
Wytheville Community College: Wythe County Community Hospital
The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education: Mr. Ben Davenport and Mrs. Betty Davenport

Special Thanks to Our Friends At Wells Fargo

We extend our sincerest gratitude to Wells Fargo for their longtime support of the Commonwealth Legacy Scholarship Program. For fifteen years, they have helped recognize individuals, foundations, and organizations who value the impact of higher education. Thanks to the partnership of Wells Fargo, each award recipient is recognized with a one-year scholarship in their name.

Recent news

2 min read

VFCCE Fellows Finale

May is a time of commemoration across the community college system. The Virginia Foundation for Community College Education (VFCCE) brought together its 2023-2024 Fellows cohort for a two-day leadership capstone […]

View News Item
2 min read

Celebration of Mellon Research Fellows

On Thursday, May 9, the Mellon Research Fellows students showcased and were celebrated for their remarkable achievements through a display of student posters. This is an end-of-year recognition of the […]

View News Item